Dysart Willis
24/7 access to a lawyer:
Raleigh 919-741-4825 Henderson 252-776-0069
En Español : 919-747-3276
Arabic : 252-654-4852
English Text
Español Text
Arabic Text
En Español : 919-747-3276
Arabic : 252-654-4852
Free Consultations 24/7 access to a lawyer. We are here WHENEVER you need us. 24/7 access to a lawyer | our locations
919-741-4825 Raleigh 252-776-0069 Henderson

How soon can you drive again after a DWI charge?

In North Carolina, you receive a driver's license suspension of 30 days after you receive a DWI charge. Of course, you need your license back as soon as possible to get to work or to class.

So, how soon will you be able to drive again?

It could be 10 days

The good news is that you may not have to wait 30 days. The bad news is that 10 days can still seem like a long time. As long as your BAC was under 0.15 percent when an officer arrested you, you are probably able to apply for limited driving privileges. There are conditions such as the completion of a DWI assessment and not already having a DWI conviction. Judges look at your driving history for the past seven years and your insurance claims record, among other things, to make a decision.

Also, if a judge does grant you driving privileges, you will not have as much driving freedom as before. For instance, you might only have the ability to drive only to work and school.

It could be less than 10 days

In theory, you could even get the legal ability to drive back within a few days of your arrest. This is possible in cases where police officers made an obvious mistake or misstep, or your innocence is clear-cut. For instance, if your BAC was zero and you have a disability that causes balance problems that led police to think you were overly intoxicated, then you could have your charges dropped in a matter of days. A lot depends on your circumstances and your communications with a lawyer.

It could be one year after conviction

If you are convicted of the DWI charge, plan on not having your license back for the one year after your conviction. The waiting period goes up for each conviction after the first.

However, you can also explore the possibility of getting limited driving privileges after a conviction.

 

 

contextual

Our Results

  • Client was charged in federal court with the felony offense of being an illegal alien in possession of a firearm. After negotiation with the US Attorney's Office, the felony gun charge was dismissed and our client...

  • Our client was charged with statutory rape and faced mandatory registration as a sex offender if convicted. We were able to work with a forensic expert and the district attorney's office to negotiate a guilty plea..

  • Client charged with Felony Assault on a Police Officer, misdemeanor assault, and resisting an officer. After a jury trial where multiple police officers testified about the incident, our client was found not guilty ..

  • Client investigated by federal law enforcement for possessing child pornography. Ryan began representing the client during the investigation and ultimately the client was not charged with any crimes...

View More
Super Lawyers Board Certified Specialist | North Carolina State Bar | Federal / State Criminal Law
Email Us For A Response

We Can Help! Request A Free Initial Consultation:

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Raleigh Office:
507 N. Blount Street
Raleigh, NC 27604

Toll Free: 800-599-4428
Phone: 919-741-4825
Fax: 919-882-1222
Raleigh Law Office Map

Henderson Office:
1108 Dabney Drive
Henderson, NC 27536

Phone: 252-776-0069
Map & Directions

Statewide Criminal Defense